Huawei E220 revisited

Hi Folks. Finally I have finished my tests and scripting with the Huawei E220 USB UMTS Modem and Ubuntu Edgy Eft. Some conclusions can be made:

  1. have the modem plugged in on boot
  2. if you work continuous only with the modem work with suspend to disk mode instead of shutdown
  3. use the scripts I provide here
  4. if you unplug the modem so that kppp is hanging or the modem device is hanging you will only get it back to work with a reboot

I have done some scripting and tests. The modem is ready for working if you have more than one device named /dev/ttyUSB. If there is only one ttyUSB0 device it might not work at all. I have created a script which checks the number of ttyUSB devices if not a minimum of 2 devices exist the script automatically does the procedure described in my prior article about this modem. ATTENTION please follow exact the hints written to the console. The script has some built in sleeps and waits which have been tested to work quite well. So long.

Script for setting the pin, slightly modified: setpinpl.txt

Script doing all the other work: huaweish.txt

HINT: Please modify the entry with the pin code needed for your umts device.

4 thoughts on “Huawei E220 revisited

  1. Hi guys,
    I have the ultimate solution for this problem:

    – Create a udev rule named 10-huawei.rules placed deppending of your distro like this:

    SYSFS{idVendor}==“12d1″, SYSFS{idProduct}==“1003″, RUN+=“/bin/mknod /dev/ttyUSB0 c 188 0″, GROUP=“dialout“
    SYSFS{idVendor}==“12d1″, SYSFS{idProduct}==“1003″, RUN+=“/bin/mknod /dev/ttyUSB1 c 188 1″, GROUP=“dialout“
    SYSFS{idVendor}==“12d1″, SYSFS{idProduct}==“1003″, RUN+=“/bin/mknod /dev/ttyUSB2 c 188 2″, GROUP=“dialout“
    SYSFS{idVendor}==“12d1″, SYSFS{idProduct}==“1003″, RUN+=“/sbin/modprobe -Q usbserial vendor=0x12d1 product=0x1003″
    SYSFS{idVendor}==“12d1″, SYSFS{idProduct}==“1003″, RUN+=“/sbin/modprobe -Q usbserial vendor=0x12d1 product=0x1003″
    SYSFS{idVendor}==“12d1″, SYSFS{idProduct}==“1003″, RUN+=“/sbin/modprobe -Q usbserial vendor=0x12d1 product=0x1003″
    SYSFS{idVendor}==“12d1″, SYSFS{idProduct}==“1003″, RUN+=“/usr/bin/pkill pppd“
    SYSFS{idVendor}==“12d1″, SYSFS{idProduct}==“1003″, RUN+=“/usr/sbin/huaweiAktBbo-i386.out“

    – Download huaweiAktBbo-i386.out (sorry i can’t remember from where) an placed into /usr/sbin/

    – udevcontrol reload_rules and plug your whithe egg

    Thath’s all. Only say that if your wvdial throught resource busy you must to kill pppd. Fore more information visit the long explain (sorry only in spanish) at http://www.ubuntu-es.org/index.php?q=node/33041#comment-88049

  2. Hi
    I am from singapore.
    I read so many in forums to make this modem to work in Ubuntu 6.06.
    I work for 2 days and then „gone“.It detects only as ttyUSB0.No more USB1&2.So I could not connect.
    I modified my wvdial.conf to suit my country but still I could not.
    By the way,can u pl explain in detail,where to put this script and how.I am not an IT guy,just by interest I am learning linux.
    If possible mail to vaduvurkumar at gmail dot com
    Thanks.

  3. Hi Mickelnai
    I have the ultimate solution for this problem:

    – Create a udev rule named 10-huawei.rules placed deppending of your distro like this:
    will you pl explain detail or examble.
    I am using ubuntu/Fedora.
    where and how to put.
    Since I don’t know spanish,I need this help.
    Thanks in advance.

Kommentar verfassen

