Cisco vpnclient with Ubuntu Gutsy

Alternative for Cisco vpnclient – vpnc

I have found a better solution then the one below, follow this link to get (sorry only german) description on how to use vpnc instead of cisco vpnclient. I try to translate this here:

Install the vpnc package, please check yourself what sources you have to enable.

sudo apt-get install vpnc

Now you have to create a file as root in /etc/vpnc, name it like your profile e.g. myvpncprofile.conf! Fill in the information into the file as listed below:

IPSec gateway
IPSec ID
IPSec secret
Xauth username XXXXXXXX
Xauth password YYYYYYYY

Fill in den gateway ip, vpn name for the cisco group password do the following: in your .pcf file you find an entry prefixed enc_grouppwd which contains an encoded group password. Copy it to your clipboard and click this link, there you will get the encoded password in plain text which you the fill into IPSec secret part of the file.

After you have done all this you can use vpnc-connect command:
vpnc-connect /ect/vpnc/yourprofile.conf

to connect to your vpn. I left the Xauth password empty because I have a token and the vpnc asks me for the password. So far so good so simple. DONE. vpnc-disconnect kills the vpn connection which is pushed to the background.

For all who want to use the cisco vpnclient package, follow this instrucktion:

I tried to install vpnclient for cisco vpn connections with the packages out of the known internet sources and did not succeed. I found

this link http://linux-support.hiwi.rz.uni-kon…1.0640.tar.bz2 within the ubuntu forum here . Extract the package, and run ./vpn_install, answer the usual questions and finished. If you have an existing profile import it as mentioned here.

4 Antworten auf “Cisco vpnclient with Ubuntu Gutsy”

  1. I used to have the Cisco VPN client working fine under 7.04 but haven’t been able to get it working under 7.10 so I gave vpnc a try.
    I followed the instructions above and I can setup a connection to the VPN server and it seems to connect fine (I had to add –enable-1des) but after that I loose my network. I cannot connect to anything (Firestarter even died).

    Any ideas.

    Here’s the output while connecting:
    RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    VPNC started in background (pid: 9539)…

Kommentar verfassen

