iPhone contacts with big images – bad performance

Hi, a few days ago I was revisiting my contacts in apple’s addressbook. I found some contact where I had no images attached. I opened up iPhoto and dropped the images I wanted to the contact. Afterwards I synchronized my iPhone to get the changes done. Next day my wife called me and the iPhone kind of froze. No more touch events were recognized, sloppy animations, really bad experience. After rebooting 2 times I recognized that the behaviour is tied to the much too big image of the contact of my wife. So be aware if you rework your contacts, that the images you take for a contact would not be too big, if not it is possible that your iphone freezes on phoning the contact because the os is swapping memory. You can evaluate if a image is too big, if you goto edit contacts, select a contact and if it takes a long amount of time to load the contact that’s a hint of an image too big.

One thought on “iPhone contacts with big images – bad performance

Kommentar verfassen

