{ failure = (wanting – beeing able to) }

Install VirtualBox Guest Additions on Ubuntu Server 8.10

If you have a minimal base installation of Ubuntu Server 8.10 than you have to install the following:

  1. build-essential
  2. linux-headers

on you command line type:

sudo apt-get install build-essential linux-headers-`uname -r`

then goto VBox Menu Device, there select Install Guest Additions, than you can mount the Guest Additions as CDROM. On your command line type the following:

root@ubuntu810servervm:/media/cdrom# mount /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom
mount: block device /dev/scd0 is write-protected, mounting read-only


root@ubuntu810servervm:/media/cdrom# cd /media/cdrom
root@ubuntu810servervm:/media/cdrom# ls -l
total 16468
dr-xr-xr-x 3 root root    2048 2009-02-16 17:27 32Bit
dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root    2048 2009-02-16 17:27 64Bit
-r--r--r-- 1 root root     192 2009-01-23 10:36 AUTORUN.INF
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 1928117 2009-02-16 17:26 VBoxLinuxAdditions-amd64.run
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 1761598 2009-02-16 17:26 VBoxLinuxAdditions-x86.run
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4768256 2009-02-16 17:25 VBoxSolarisAdditions.pkg
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 4389880 2009-02-16 17:17 VBoxWindowsAdditions-amd64.exe
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root  477712 2009-02-16 17:05 VBoxWindowsAdditions.exe
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 3532024 2009-02-16 17:07 VBoxWindowsAdditions-x86.exe


root@ubuntu810servervm:/media/cdrom# sudo ./VBoxLinuxAdditions-x86.run

Follow the onscreen instructions. That’s it.


19 Antworten zu “Install VirtualBox Guest Additions on Ubuntu Server 8.10”

  1. I followed your steps, and still having issues … I did not install (and would not like) the GUI, but want to expand the screen so I can type and read better. I mounted the CD, browse the VB additions file(s), ran it … after installed the headers, but I’m recieving this error:

    Could not find X.org or Xfree.86 on the guest system

    The X window drivers will not be installed

  2. Dear Jose, if you do not have the gui installed you can ignore this error message this only tells you that the vbox additions for Xfree.86 could not be installed, this is always the issue if you have a non gui (server) installation. Regards Jörg.

  3. Thanks so much for your help! Now I feel a bit stupid for my question, hahaha… but I learned something new. I’m learning Linux and it is an amazing Os but learning curve is a bit high. Thank you for reply,

    Regards,

    Jose

  4. Hi,

    i follow your instruction, but it doesn’t works. Everthing is installed without problems.
    I want to change the size of my window, but nothing happen. it is still the same size.
    I activate the mouse in Terminalmodus, but Virtualbox keep it catch.
    What are the vantage of the guest addition?
    I hope you can help me.

    Cheers
    Sam

  5. Howdy! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be
    able to resolve this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Appreciate it!

  6. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was doing a little homework on this. And he actually bought me breakfast because I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this matter here on your web page.

  7. This is a very good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very accurate information… Thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

  8. Grsat post. I was checking continuhously this blog andd I’m impressed!

    Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care
    for such information a lot. I wass seeking this certain info for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar